[Translation] Yoo Yeon Seok Official Japanese Interview April 2015

Official Interview with Yoo Yeon Seok 
The fanclub is established in Japan, the new opportunity is coming right now

 photo AB17B39D-0B55-40F8-9AD2-7245AF9C5114.jpg
© KINGKONG ENTERTAINMENT

What made you want to become an actor? 

When I was at elementary school third grade, I stood on the stage for the first time to perform during the school play. Although I was still young, the applause I received from the audience left a deep impression on me. Since then, I’ve always dreamed of becoming an actor.

12 years has passed since your debut, have you ever looked back at the roles you have been casted into (played) ?

I’ve never really reviewed the past works. But when I watch movies or dramas on the TV during holidays, sometime also on the cable television, it happens that my choice always goes to my own performances.

When choosing a role, is there any standard of what kind of character if it’s a drama (and) what kind of character if it’s a movie? 

Personally, I prefer to give different images from the previous works. It suffers a lot to try different genres, but I am the type of person who finds nothing as fun and valuable than taking new challenge in each work.

Speaking of Yoo Yeon Seok-San’s (character), as it is still fresh in our mind, for sure the character you took in “Reply 1994” is deep-rooted, so I’d like to know what does that role mean to you? 

The seniors at the agency always say that “the life of an actor starts at the age of 30. “Reply 1994” happened right around that timing and had growing up together with me. Fortunately the character was loved by many people, for myself, it also became the opportunity to achieve a new high. Also, what this movie means special to me is the fact of every actor in it started their life as an actor at the same time and had growing up together, just like me, which has given great opportunities to everyone, including me.

During the filming of “Reply 1994”, if there is any fun episode on the set, please tell us.

Well, there were lots of funny episodes, for sure. Particularly when filming, we just couldn’t help laughing out on many things. It was fine to retake with the actors at the same generation, however, when taking scene with Mr. Sung Dong Il, that was really difficult. There were many ad libs, and I didn’t know what kind of acting would showed up that I might break to laugh. So I was always feeling nervous. Especially during the filming of having meal together, we were working very very hard not to provoke laughter in each other (smile).

 photo D72DE90D-1F87-42F6-A9C6-5644CCA43017.jpg
© KINGKONG ENTERTAINMENT

In variety “Healing Camp” you make cosmetic and furniture, you take pictures, do fishing and baseball as well, showing off a variety of talents. In the next work “Youth Over Flower”, you cook breakfast, take good care of friends like a mother to your friends. What kind of character were you when your childhood? Has there anything changed after you went for military service?

If anything, I think I take things seriously, yet I never think I’m any stricter or trouble person comparing to others. However, recently, I really heard that kind of talk surrounding me, again it might had occurred if I look back into my childhood but I probably didn’t realize it. For instance, I always do everything following the lead of others since childhood, which makes me feel worthful if I brought happiness to people. For sure, there are part of things that were changed in me thanks to the experience in the army. Before that, I’ve offen be late of class and fail the exams. But life in military serving as a driving soldier naturally made me a strict person (and) on time. After I left the army, I am very grateful that I was able to be the chief student with scholarship.

Variety “Youth Over Flowers” has been broadcasted on MNet since 20 April. When you suddenly had to leave for Laos, what kind of feeling did you have?

When I have to travel to somewhere, I am the type of person would prepare a detailed schedule before go on action. But in “Youth Over Flowers” I suddenly had to go filming, which really confusing me at the very beginning, to be honest. Yet, because it was precisely that kind of journey, up until now, I am happy that I was able to experience that. I had so much fun, not as actor Yoo Yeon Seok, one of the youth, but as Ahn Yeon Seok who had happy times, it was a good trip. Since I had no rest from continuous shooting, I felt that I got a vacation where I can feel refreshed.

In “Youth Over Flowers”, you traveled with “Reply 1994” co-stars Baro and Son Hojun. If it’s not because of the drama filming, would you like to travel abroad together?

With Baro and Hojun, we have been good friends from before, our bond became much deepened through this journey. We learned a lot about each other on things that we didn’t know before, which became unforgettable happy memories. Even after “Youth Over Flowers”, I am making time to meet with them. There are times when we rush to the filming location to support each other’s work, really as good friends. Becoming friends like this merely happened through work, it’s not rare right? In particular me and Hojun are of the same age, and we frequently meet up since we are in neighborhood. We also talk a lot on personal troubles.

Speaking of “Youth Over Flowers”, you were almost becoming like a mother during the trip, is there any episode that stays in your memory the most? 

Usually in South Korea, you are supposed to avoid the raindrops when it is raining. But because Laos is so hot, the rain is very much welcomed. While driving on the off-road vehicle (and) covered in mud, even when it was raining, it was fun. Because these are things we rarely do in Korea, it is really a fun memory.

If “Youth Over Flowers” was to be filmed at other places besides Laos, where do you want to go and what kind of travel you want to try?

It is not my style to travel with the accompanying tour guide and determined schedule. I would prefer to decide my own schedule, because for me it is surprisingly troublesome to follow the course planned by other people…. If I have the freedom to travel in backpack, I think I will be able to freely add one night to try to visit places that were not decided before. For certain, personal touch is the charm of traveling. I love to travel in that way. If there is any place I want to go, Japan will be the first! I had go to Onsen in Hakone for couple of times with family. Next would be Osaka and Fukuoka before trying to go to other different areas. After that, I would like to go to America. I think everyone may have visited for at least once, while I haven’t yet. In fact, I haven’t got to meet my friend who lives there.

I heard that you are good friend to Kim Bum-san of the same agency. You might be barely see each other because you two are busy, but for those time you met each other, what kind of conversation would you have?

Since both of us are the earliest members of the agency, we share deep connection. As before, we really met often and made time to talk, but due to quite busy work recently, we barely hang out. Nevertheless, when we meet, we talk to each other and have discussion on troubles we have in acting.

 photo B9CD91DD-425E-4835-8287-50E2B8FA973E.jpg
© KINGKONG ENTERTAINMENT

The official fanclub is (finally) opened in Japan. Through the fanclub, what kind of appearance will you show to your Japanese fans?

Actually, I haven’t got much opportunity to meet with the Japanese fans until now. Even though,the Japanese fanclub was established upon the same timing as “Youth Over Flowers” being broadcasted in Japan. I am hoping to meet them often and create closer relationship with Japanese fans one step further than before. In Korea, lots of Japanese fans come to my signing event or fan meeting. From now on I am really hoping to be able to have wonderful new encounter in a new place through Japanese fanclub.

If you have the chance to come to Japan, what kind of thing you want to try? The food you want to eat, the kind of experience you want to do, if there is any please tell us. 

I am looking forward to going to places full of snow like Sapporo to ski. Also to challenge myself for tuna fishing in the pasific ocean. Sailing on the ship across the ocean, making sushi from the fish I caught, maybe?.. (smile)

Lastly, please leave any message to the Japanese fans  Hello. This is actor Yoo Yeon Seok. From now on, I am hoping to be able to have a chance to get really really closer to Japanese fans, for you to be really happy, that is my biggest expectation. Now that we have Japanese official fanclub, please come visit often! ☺️

Original source : Koreapo (from original exclusive interview with YYS Japanese Fanclub)

Translated by Kaylanurul
Brought to you by Yeoniverse ~ Yoo Yeon Seok IFC

PLEASE CREDIT THE TRANSLATORS, YEONIVERSE AND PROVIDE YEONIVERSE.WORDPRESS.COM LINK WHEN REPOSTING.

2 thoughts on “[Translation] Yoo Yeon Seok Official Japanese Interview April 2015”

Leave your Love

