[Eng] Singles magazine April ’16 interview : Yoo Yeon Seok’s everyday matters (Part 1)

3

For the last 5 years actor Yoo Yeon Seok has been doing works without even a single miss. To him, acting is like a daily life routine.

After (finishing) one work, famous actors suddenly slow down. To them, they need a lot of time. They need time to fully enjoy the popularity, and they need time to review their next work.

A single success creates a greater fear of failure. Getting dreary after a long time passes by, we feel a strange sense of betrayal instead of anticipation when we hear about their comeback news.

Actor Yoo Yeon Seok is different. In his movies [Architecture 101], [Werewolf Boy] and more he showcased an outstanding acting as villains. It was only then people knew for the first time that he was the boy who acted as the young Woo Jin (played by Yoo Ji Tae) in [Oldboy]. 10 years, it has been 10 years since his debut. 3 years ago, he took on a role of [Reply 1994]’s ‘Chilbongie’ and gained explosive popularity, becoming famous suddenly. Nevertheless, he did not slow his pace. No, he quickened.

Since 2013, in every year’s movie releases, Yoo Yeon Seok’s name rises in the ending credits more than once. From supporting to starring roles, his filmography is gradually getting piled up thickly. And last year, the news on him appearing in the musical [The Man Who Walked Through Walls] were conveyed through the media. For he has worked and worked restlessly, the period of rest he was given was dreamy, but he chose to debut as a musical actor instead of resting. Many people were doubtful of watching Yoo Yeon Seok right on the stage.

However, he receives favourable reviews as he proudly finished the performances. By the time the musical’s curtain falls, movie [Mood of the Day] was released. And now 3 months later, his other movie [Love, Lies] is upcoming to be released in April.

What makes him quickened his pace? Yoo Yeon Seok smiles silently and slowly replies. “Uhm…well, it’s just that I think the energy for new works has emerged every time”. He said he will take a break a little bit this year but he didn’t finish his sentences as if he wasn’t sure. He knew very well that he couldn’t keep his words.

Yoo Yeon Seok now is in the process of becoming a ‘complete actor’.  In the meantime, his accumulated filmographies are part of his pleasant journey to reach the final destination as an actor. Actor Yoo Yeon Seok’s journey is still ongoing.

zl2fqts

(You) declared “I don’t want to travel with Son Ho Jun again” (yet) a few days ago you went to travel  with him to the US.

It was a joke (laughs). If anything I want to go somewhere with Hojun again. I like to travel and have been in many places but I’ve never once went to the US. This time we went for a pictorial photoshoot, it was really fun because it was a form in which we leave pictures as we actually travel.

xxxet5m

Through [Youth Over Flowers – Laos] it was made known that you’re a travel enthusiast. What is your travel style?

First of all, priority is given to the destinations that I have never been to. In the past I’ve travelled alone well. Nowadays I’ve been travelling with my friends a lot. In the near future if I have the time it seems like I’ll go travelling alone. There is a charm in travelling alone. I choose guesthouses instead of luxurious hotels for accommodation. There I can naturally meet other travellers and have fun conversations with.

j9sbavp

Do you have someone whom you love to go to travel with?

The person is my friend who is older than me and manages a wine bar which we recently opened. He was a senior from my school and 4 years older. We have known each other for more than 10 years. I feel comfortable with him and our tastes are similar so we get along.

el4tx4m

The operating  wine bar seems more than the concept of an investor

The wine bar menu, and the interior all are the spaces that are stained with my taste. I handmade furniture (for the bar) too, and I also dry the ‘dried flowers’ for the flowers display. When the wine bar was opened, it was around (the same time) as my musical [The Man Who Walked Through Walls], and fans gave me a lot of flowers every time I performed. So I hang the flowers I received upside down on the laundry rack in my house to dry them (laughs). Dried flowers suit vintage style interior very well.

96qqnrj

Travelling, fishing, photography, furniture making and so on, you have so many hobbies. And at the same time you constantly work. These days ‘busy man’ is worse than ‘bad man’. Do you have the time for dating?

Ah, is it so? If it is like that then I became a bad person (laughs). I should try to refrain  from (doing hobbies) a little. In the past, I wanted to do so many things that I did not have any room for relaxation. To be in a relationship, I must meet someone who understands my disposition (laughs).

2fpryv4

As you are clear about what you want to do, it looks like there is something you cannot compromise on unlike your gentle appearance.

I tend to make something perfect at once. I engaged with every single detail of the wine bar’s interior. I think this is because I am doing something I like and interested in. I felt like the wine bar should be a place I love so that other people will like it too.

Not just in interior design but, I rarely give up on things for reasons like “I’m too tired”, “I’m too busy” or “I don’t have enough money” because I don’t want to live with regrets.

xn4mxfg

The houses of people who like interior design are usually neatly and well decorated.

I tried to decorate my own house, but I cannot clean up. When I’m busy I don’t have the time to clean up. The gifts I received from fans keep on piling up.

Is there any particular house chore that you’re fond of?

I enjoy making small decorative pieces for interior design, but I am not a big fan of cleaning or washing dishes (laughs). So sometimes my mother comes over and do the house chores for me or I handle it at once on my day off.

emsq7wa

I heard that you inherited a film camera from your father, so is this hobby heavily influenced by your father?

My parents have given me lots of opportunities to experience this and that. When I was a kid I like going fishing and travelling with my father. My father taught me about photos too. My mother made me learn about musical instruments, and taught me how to do furniture arrangement in the house and reforming furniture.

This certainly seems like an influence from my parents. Actually I did not try to think of why I have so many hobbies like these (laughs). My inclination of liking to try and experience something new also seems to play a part in it.

(to be continued with part 2)

Full interview from : Singles Magazine Navercast ;
Gifs are from Singles Magazine Photoshoot behind the scene video:

One thought on “[Eng] Singles magazine April ’16 interview : Yoo Yeon Seok’s everyday matters (Part 1)”

Leave your Love

